IBP ZN Chapter elects new officers The Integrated Bar of the Philippines (IBP) Zamboanga del Norte Chapter elected last Saturday, February 25, 2017, its new set of officers for 2017 to 2019.

Lawyer Kenneth Lim was chosen the next president with 23 votes, over James Verduguez who garnered 19 votes.

The elected officers who ran unopposed are Uldarico Mejorada II, vice-president; January Faith Santiago, secretary; Marian Lucille Zulueta, treasurer; Nizza Lesterio, auditor; and Diana Charlette Concha, PRO.

Out of the six nominees for the board of directors, Helen Acoymo-Angeles, Alfred Casipong, Olive Corrine Olvis, and Dan Santos won. Outgoing chapter president Joseph Lester Patay will sit ex officio as the fifth member of the board.

The IBP election was held at the Hall of Justice, Regional Trial Court, Branch 7, Dipolog City. Judge Rogelio Laquihon served as the Supreme Court’s designated observer, while Judge Chad Martin Paler, Prosecutors Lynbert Lo and Felin Legara-Comidoy conducted the orderly and peaceful election.

Only members in good standing who have fully paid their dues, as of January 31, 2017, were allowed to vote and be voted. Lawyers who are holding an elective, judicial, quasi-judicial or prosecutorial office in the government were ineligible for election.

The IBP is the official mandatory organization of all Philippine lawyers whose names appear in the Roll of Attorneys of the Supreme Court. It has local chapters in all provinces and major cities nationwide.